Queen's Awards winners 2022: export victors praised for 'resilience and ingenuity'

Thu 21 Apr 2022
Posted by: William Barns-Graham
Trade News

queen's awards

This year’s winners in the international trade category of the 2022 Queen’s Awards for Enterprise have been praised for their “resilience and ingenuity” and for flying the flag for Britain overseas.

The winners of the annual award were revealed today (21 April), with 141 companies cited in the International Trade category – an increase of 15% on last year.

The awards, now in their 56th year, are hosted annually and are usually announced on or around HM Queen’s birthday on 21 April.


The Queen’s Awards are given for the “highest levels of excellence” and “outstanding achievement” across four categories, with international trade being the largest. 

A total of 232 businesses have been cited for this year’s awards:

  • International Trade: 141 winners
  • Innovation: 51 winners
  • Promoting Opportunity: 9 winners
  • Sustainable Development: 31 winners


As partner on the International Trade category, the IOE&IT helps promote entries and offers the winners one year’s membership of the Institute free of charge.

IOE&IT director general Marco Forgione also acts as one of judges for the awards and praised this year’s winners for their “resilience” in continuing to excel internationally through the uncertainty caused by the pandemic, post-Brexit rule changes and the global supply chain crisis.

“I would like to congratulate all the winners - the Queen’s Award for Enterprise is a great mark of excellence for a business to achieve and we saw some amazing entries,” he said. “The past few years have seen some difficult times to trade in and awards like this underline the resilience and ingenuity of British business.”

He added: “all the winners also receive one year’s membership of the IOE&IT and we look forward to working with them to further increase and improve on their international trade performance.”


Small business minister Paul Scully also congratulated the winners for their commitment and wished them continued success.

“This country is renowned for its entrepreneurial achievements and there is no greater showcase for it than The Queen’s Awards,” he said. “It’s vital we celebrate the success of our businesses and recognise the contributions they make to communities across the country.”

Proven export winners

Winners of the International Trade section must display three consecutive years of steep export sales growth, or six years of substantial year-on-year growth.

They must have made a minimum of £100,000 in overseas sales in the first year of their entry and prove they have achieved outstanding growth in overseas earnings relative to their business size and sector

Winning benefits

Winners of the awards, which are valid for five years, may fly the Queen’s Awards flag at their main office and use the awards logo on marketing materials.

A representative from each winning company will be invited to a Royal reception hosted by a senior member of the Royal Family.

The awards were first established in 1965 and since then more than 7,000 companies have been recognised.

Her Majesty’s Lord Lieutenants will be presenting the Awards to businesses locally throughout the year.